Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

BP Disaster 12 Year Memorial: A Radical Day of Reflection

April 20 @ 12:00 pm - 12:30 pm

Join the Mississippi Hub of Gulf South for a Green New Deal this Wednesday, April 20, 2022, for a Radical Day of Reflection as we remember the BP Drilling Disaster that claimed the lives of 11 workers, spilled more than 200 million gallons of oil into the Gulf, and devastated Gulf communities and wildlife.

When: Wednesday, April 20 at 12pm CDT / 1pm EDT / 10am PDT

Where: Zoom, you can register here. There is also a Facebook event here.

What & Who: The 30 minute event hosted by Mississippi for a Green New Deal will include the following:

  • A prayer and reflection by Pastor Harry Joseph on the 11 lives lost

  • A legal update on offshore oil lease sales in the Gulf in light of a January legal victory by lead attorney Brettny Hardy of Earthjustice

  • A spoken word poem by Artis Burney of the Cosmic Poetry Sanctuary

  • An update on the Eastern Gulf Moratorium and efforts to make it permanent by Hunter Miller from Oceana

  • An update on plans for an offshore wind farm in the Gulf provided by Dustin Renaud of Healthy Gulf

We hope you can join us for reflection and learning 12 years after the worst environmental disaster in U.S. history.

 

Register here: http://bit.ly/BP-12-Years

Details

Date:
April 20
Time:
12:00 pm - 12:30 pm
https://fb.me/e/2mZLB5ZGu

Venue

Zoom
View Venue Website

Organizer

Dustin Renaud
Phone:
228-209-2194
Email:
dustin@healthygulf.org
Scroll to Top